Creative Minds

This hiatus had me thinking about how creative people are their own breed. Artist’s especially.

I have been a dreamer all my life. Creativity has always come natural to me. I started choreographing full dance solos for myself at a young age (thank you home movies for capturing that). I grew up in a time where you still could be anything without people crushing your dreams. I realized at a young age I wanted to be a professional dancer. I wanted to be a backup dancer for Michael Jackson, because if your going to set standards for yourself, you mind as well set them high. Those dreams got crushed when he passed so the next star of choice was Justin Timberlake…and who knows if he’ll return to the touring world again. The limits I set for myself were to the moon and beyond.

I went to a community college, which let my creativity in dance skyrocket after being asked to choreograph for the dance ensemble my second semester in. During my time there I expanded my knowledge in dance and also got to know more about my mind and how I created my dances. I rarely came to rehearsal prepared with anything because I could just make up movement on the spot (a gift that I am now acknowledging to be something special). I’d come up with storylines for my dancers to connect to or bring in a piece of art that I got inspired from. I auditioned for America’s Best Dance Crew season one with the dance team, I performed at Six Flags with a friend I met in the ensemble, and even after college my connections with dancers and my professor led me to more experiences in the “real world”.

If you have a creative mind then you already know how it doesn’t shut off easily. For those of you who don’t, let me help you imagine what its like. Say its 10pm and you’re laying in bed ready to sleep. BAM! 5,000 ideas and concerns just flooded your brain and now you’re wide awake. No matter how hard you try you can’t sleep, so what do you do? Well for me I start to make lists or write, put music on and dance it out, or binge watch something on Netflix until my eyes and brain give out. Sometimes it takes only a couple of hours and other times I’m wide awake until 7am. If you live with someone and you are still up as they are getting ready for work, you’ll most likely get this, “Everything okay?” and you’ll respond, “Yup, I’m just not tired.” Most of the time I don’t want to concern anyone with my insomnia and to be honest most of the time its because something sparks my creativity and my brain doesn’t let it go until it is released.

There are downfalls of being a creative person. Well, it’s not necessarily a downfall, but some people can see it this way. Most of the creative people I know are quirky characters, including myself. We can be overly emotional about the simplest thing. Perfect example: I love classic rock (I swear I was born in the wrong era), whenever certain songs come on I have to stop what I’m doing and just live in the song. To hear a guitarist wail their soul out in the notes that they play is a thing of beauty. To listen to the pleading voices of that era is magical in itself and some people relate to how I’m feeling and others just think I’m crazy. There are songs today that still do that, but its getting rarer by the generation. You just happen to get lost in the music rather than just listening to it. You might even cry because it was that beautiful or soul wrenching.

 Creative minds are often attached with being over sensitive also. This I believe is because we are often misunderstood. If there is something we are passionate about, its not 100% it’s 1000000000% that we will stand up for it no matter what. We can be irrational in conversations because our love or hate for something is so strong that we want others to see what we see. It can be extremely annoying to those without this gift and if you’re dating someone like us God bless you.

Patience is key if you are in a relationship with a creative mind. We are up all hours of the night, we express our love and hate for things that normal people can see the black and white of. We often voice our opinions not asking for others but just to put ours out there. Our love for all humans is inevitable. We don’t see race or gender we just see people. Guaranteed, we’ve been in a show with people who become like a second family and understand us more than anyone else. Being a spouse or significant other, you have to ride our rollercoasters…and there’s many: withdrawal after a show is over, having people who don’t understand our passion or us, being sleep deprived, being messy not only with our scattered brain but in real life and on and on. For those of you on the other side, our second half to our whole who aren’t “like” us, you are a strong and patient human being and we appreciate your willingness to love us no matter what. We appreciate that you don’t fully understand how we operate, but don’t push us to ignore our emotions. We are grateful for those of you who support everything we do, even if you don’t 1000000000% agree with us. You don’t squash our creativity with realistic statistics because you know that we are determined to break those odds. You eventually bring out your own quirkiness and we love every second of it!

Now I’m going to get brutally honest for those of us who have been in relationships and the person you were with tried to pull you out of your “fantasy land”, you are the kind of people we dislike. You try to change something that comes natural to us and turn us into another ordinary person because maybe you feel inferior to someone who has such a passion for life. You are the dream and confident killers. You make a creative person cripple in a world filled with so much inspiration. You have no right to tell another human that they are wasting their time dreaming of things that will never happen or only last a short time. Creativity is something that should never be contained and allowed to explode whenever and wherever it can. Do not suffocate it let it flourish.

Final thoughts: Be with someone who aspires you to run with your dreams. Never let someone dull your love for life. Always, always, always, be your quirky crazy self.

-AMP

Author: myampedlife

I'm just a millennial trying to get through this thing called life. Dancer. Writer.

Leave a Reply

