Happy….Tuesday!

I bet you were thinking I was going to write the V word because of today’s date. Well truth is, I never liked this “holiday” and I have a boyfriend. I don’t feel the need to splurge on something vomited with red, pink, & white to remind the person I love that I love them especially on February 14th.

I bet you were thinking I was going to write the V word because of today’s date. Well truth is, I never liked this “holiday” and I have a boyfriend. I don’t feel the need to splurge on something vomited with red, pink, & white to remind the person I love that I love them especially on February 14th. I don’t expect flowers or to go to a fancy restaurant for dinner. In fact, the past two years there just so happen to be Devils games and I have asked my boyfriend to go. Literally I said “What are you doing February 14th?” He asked, “I don’t know what’s February 14th? I responded with, “Well its Valentine’s Day, but more importantly its a Tuesday and there’s a Devils game. Can you go?” He obviously responded yes, so that’s our plans. No pressure for gifts, no stress on if the night will be a perfect one filled with love and admiration, oh and don’t get me started on people who get engaged today. Like seriously dude…can you be any less original?

Besides the pressure and stress on couples, lets realize that the single people of the universe get a huge slap in the face because of all the PDA that goes on this glorious day. They are reminded that they haven’t found someone to share love with, which leads to their parents asking “Are you dating anyone? You’re not getting any younger you know.” Ugh, thanks card company. Oh, oh, and now the day before is “Galentine’s Day”. What the hell is that? Just another reminder to your single friends that you can’t hang out with them on the 14th because you’ll be with your boyfriend. What about the gays? Is there a Brolentine’s Day? No…why…because it sounds stupid! Celebrate and adore the one you love everyday. Show that you love them with small things throughout the year, as oppose to a blowout on one day. You’re wallet will thank you later. Rant over!

Now I must say sorry for being on a hiatus. The past week has been a whirlwind of chaos. I lost my Aunt in her battle with cancer and it hit me real hard. Too many people are dying from this and “they” say that there is no cure. I think that’s total bullshit. There’s so many different forms of cancer and we haven’t found a cure for any of them? Nothing can kill this disease that doesn’t care who you are or how old you are? I don’t believe it. I think that its just easier for the government to watch people die from cancer than save lives because America is overpopulated. Its a death wish just like when you join the military, you never know if you’ll come back from it, but who cares you’re fighting for your country. What are we even fighting for right now? At least people who have cancer are fighting for themselves to survive until the next holiday or someone’s wedding. They have no choice in what this disease does to their body, it just eats away at you until its won. How can you not get angry that there is no cure yet? There’s millions of dollars that go towards walks and research and still there’s nothing?

It seems like these past couple of months anyone who’s died, has died from some type of cancer. My uncle, two of my friends dad’s, my aunt. It gets really depressing. Its hard to just sit there and accept that there is nothing you can do for the person who is fighting. You can pray, spend as much time with them as you can, but in a second they are gone and you’ll still have regrets on not seeing them more often. You’ll blame yourself, the doctors, God, anyone and everyone. What we need to realize is that when they pass, they are finally free. There’s no more pain, no more needles going into them, no more hoping that a miracle would happen and they’d be cancer free for the rest of their lives. They are now looking down on us and smiling because we don’t have to see them deteriorate before our eyes anymore and if you don’t believe in heaven then you think they’ll be reborn as something or someone else. And if you don’t believe in any of that then you at least know that they are released of their demons.

This week has been a reminder of where my priorities are and who they are with. Every time there is a funeral everyone thinks I have to make more time for family or to see this person more often, but do we really do it? Do we succeed in making plans to see these people once or twice a month? Do we stop coming home just to do nothing and go over so and so’s house? I’m hoping to see people more often and all of us making the time instead of having plans that fall through. Especially family, these are the ones who stick by you no matter what. Anyway, I hope ya’ll have a happy Tuesday and tell the people that you love them everyday and not just today!

-AMP

 

Author: myampedlife

I'm just a millennial trying to get through this thing called life. Dancer. Writer.

Leave a Reply

